Comments In News

DRM 3.0 Zakspeed Ford Escort Mk2 sneak peek

Zakspeed Ford Escort Mk2  Zakspeed Ford Escort Mk2

DRM 3.0 Zakspeed Ford Escort Mk2 in the works

Most of the modding fans will probably know that the DRM revival 3.0 mod by the DRM modding team is put on hold, and will probably not be published anytime soon, and if so it will not be for rFactor or rFactor2. While the reason for this has been already debated a long time ago, this does not mean the DRM modding team stopped working on the mod.

In the supplied screenshots, you can see a glimpse of a very famous Deutsche Rennsport Meisterschaft GR2 car. And yes… we are talking a new add on for the DRM 3.0 mod. The Zakspeed Ford Escort Mk2 was build by Zakspeed to compete in the DRM Group 2 class. The car won the championship in both 1975 and 1976 with Hans Heyer behind the wheel. In 1977 the Ford Escort went back to the Erich Zakowski’s Zakspeed facility to be upgraded to full DRM Group 5.Drivers where once more Heyer this time accompanied by Armin Hahne in the sister car. Powered by a Cosworth BDG twin cam engine with Lucas fuel injection the car outputs a 296hp at 9000rpm and 176lbs/ft at 7000rpm. This powerplant propelled the car to a top of 250km/h (155Mph).

For those who are not familiar with this awesome mod, check out some more DRM Revival posts on Bsimracing.

The fast and spectacular turbocharged DRM cars where raced from 1972 to 1985. The DRM championship was regarded as one of the most important German motor racing series of its time. Running on tracks such as the Nurburgring, Hockenheimring, Norisring and the Belgian Circuit Zolder. The Group 5 series was divided into 2 groups. Division 1 was made up by iconic cars as the Porsche 935 Turbo, Lancia Beta Monte Carlo Turbo and the Zakspeed Turbo Ford Capri’s with engines ranging from 2000 cm ³ up to 4000 cm ³ and Division 2 cars with less than 2000 cm ³  like the Zakspeed Ford Escort, BMW 320i.  Many of the drivers did become household names in the international racing scene. Hans Heyer, Rolf Stommelen, Klaus Ludwig, Mamfred Winkelhock, Hans-Joachim Stuck, Harald Ertl and Toine Hesemans, to name a few.

Official Webpage –