Comments In iRacing

iRacing Dallara DW12 Released + iRacing Indy 500 info

iRacing Indy 500 info

iRacing Dallara DW12 Indycar Released + iRacing Indy 500 info

iRacing already announced that the Dallara DW12 IndyCar would be released in time for the 98th running of the Indianapolis 500. So now its finally here. This release will bring you the oval track version, while the road aero version will be released together with the Season 3 build. Next to the real Indy 500 event, iRacing.com will also host its annual virtual iRacing Indy 500 race marking the Dallara DW12 competition debut.

The Dallara DW12 IndyCar is now available for $11.95. Another interesting fact is that anyone who purchased the Dallara IR03/05 in the past 90 days will automatically have a $6 credit applied to their account to use whenever and on whatever they choose.

In the included video iRacing member RyanL83 does a few laps in the new Dallara DW12 while reviewing the car.


iRacing Indy 500 event info

Event Date and Time: Friday May 23rd 9PM ET US (01:00 GMT Saturday) AND Saturday May 24th 2PM ET US (18:00 GMT Saturday)

Licence: Pro – C Oval license holders and D – Rookie Oval license holders will share the same start time on Friday and Saturday

Twitter hashtag: #iRacingIndy500

Server: US Server Only

Car: Dallara Indy car – DW12. Note that is you purchased the old Indy Car within the last 90 days you will receive a $5 iRacing credit that you can use towards the purchase of the DW12, or anything else for that matter.

Track: Indy Oval

Setups: Open setup

Practice Sessions: Open practice sessions will begin on Tuesday, May 20th at 00:00 GMT (Monday 8:00 PM US ET) and will remain open until the event starts

Qualifying: Qualifying sessions will begin on Tuesday, May 20th at 00:30 GMT (Monday 8:30 PM US ET) and will remain open through May 22nd at 23:59.

Qualifying Process: Each qualifying session will last for four green flag laps. Average lap time will be your qualifying time. Drivers will be placed in splits based on Qualifying times and gridded based on their qualifying time. Qualifying is not required. If a driver does not post a qualifying time they will be placed behind all the drivers in their split who did post a qualifying time, then they will be gridded according to their iRating.

Warm up: A 15 minute warm-up will precede the race, to allow extra time to join the session

Safety Rating & iRating: This event is an official session and official session rules apply. Safety Rating and iRating will be in effect.

Tows, Resets, Pitstops, Yellow Flags: Rookie & D license drivers will be allowed one reset (a tow back to pit lane and a fully repaired racecar). No resets will be allowed for Pro – C license drivers. Damage repair will be on. Typical pit stop rules will be in effect. The race will begin with a rolling start. Full course yellow flags and single file restarts will be used.

  • Race Length: 200 laps
  • Max Incidents: 24
  • Field Size: Up to 33 race cars per split
  • Weather Forecast: Partly cloudy, 78F, 55% Humidity, North wind at 2mph, Zero chance of rain

Broadcast:

The top split of the Pro –C class race on Friday will be broadcast live by PSRTV at http://www.iracing.com/live
The top split of the Pro-C class race on Saturday will be broadcast live by Race Spot at http://www.iracing.com/live

Official Webpage – www.iRacing.com



Related Acticle